The Alaska Uniform Residential Landlord and Tenant Act provides the following termination time frames for weekly and monthly tenancies and addresses how to handle a tenant who stays after the rental term has ended:
While rent is current, the landlord or the tenant may terminate a week-to-week tenancy by a written notice given to the other at least 14 days before the termination date specified in the notice.
The landlord or the tenant may terminate a month-to-month tenancy by a written notice given to the other at least 30 days before the rental due date specified in the notice.
If the tenant remains in possession without the landlord’s consent after expiration of the term of the rental agreement or after its termination as a weekly or monthly, the landlord may, after serving a notice to quit to the tenant under the section Alaska Notice to Quit Form and Laws, bring an action for possession and if the tenant’s holdover is willful and not in good faith the landlord, in addition, may recover an amount not to exceed one and one-half times the actual damages. If the landlord consents to the tenant’s continued occupancy, the section Alaska Rental Agreement Terms and Conditions applies.
Article 07. Section 34.03.290.
Return to Alaska Landlord-Tenant Laws.