Tennessee Eviction Laws

Termination and Eviction in Tennessee

Tennessee Code Ann. § 66-28-505(a) grants landlords the right to use an unconditional notice to quit within 14 days on any tenat repeating an act which violates the lease or rental agreement or affects health or safety twice within 6 months (notice must have been given for the first violation).

Tennessee Code Ann. § 66-28-505(d) states that all other lease violations allow the tenant time to correct the problem by serving them with 14 day notice to cure; tenant has an additional 16 to vacate (unless a very similar act or omission was the cause for a previous notice issued within six months).