Virginia Eviction Laws

Termination and Eviction in Virginia

Va. Stat. Ann. §§ 55-248.31, 55-248.32 grants the landlord use of a 30 day unconditional quit notice to be used for any repeated violation of lease (after earlier violation was cured or nonremediable lease violation materially affecting health and safety)

An immediate notice to quit can be used for a breach of the lease or rental agreement that is willful or a criminal act, is not remediable, and is a threat to the health or safety of others.

All other violations according to Virginia Code Ann. § 55-248.31 must be given 21 days to cure with an additional 9 days to quit.