A summary of Kentucky Landlord Tenant Laws based on state law statutes as they apply to residential lease agreements executed between landlords and tenants.
Required Disclosures (by Landlords)
Move-in Checklist: Landlord and tenant must complete a checklist before landlord can collect a security deposit. (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 383.580)
Owner or Agent Information: Landlord must disclose to the tenant in writing at or before the commencement of the tenancy the name and address of the person authorized to manage the premises, and an owner of the premises or a person authorized to act for and on behalf of the owner for the purpose of service of process and for the purpose of receiving notices and demands. (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 383.585)
Security Deposit: Orally or in writing, landlord must disclose where the security deposit is being held and the account number. (Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 383.580)
Security Deposit Limit
There is no state statutory limit on security deposits.
Deadline for Returning Security Deposit
Kentucky requires a landlord to return a security deposit within 30 to 60 days after the tenant has moved out, depending on whether the tenant disputes deductions taken out of the security deposit. Before deductions are to be taken, advance notice must be given to the tenant.
Small Claims Lawsuits
The monetary limit for filing a landlord-tenant small claims lawsuit is $2,500.
Kentucky state law does not cover late fees. Therefore, a reasonable late fee must be spelled out in the lease agreement in order for it to be legally enforceable.
A written 30 day notice is required to increase rent or change the terms of a month-to-month agreement. Longer term lease agreements must specifically address when and how much rent can be increased. Otherwise, no increase may happen during the lease.
Tenant’s Right to Withhold Rent
If a landlord is notified of a problem that may affect the health or safety of the occupants or cause the unit to become uninhabitable, he or she must act within a reasonable amount of time to fix the issue. Should the landlord fail to act, the tenant may either withhold a relative portion of rent or repair the problem and deduct the cost of the repair from the next rent payment.
Termination and Eviction
A 14 day unconditional quit notice may only be used for repeating the same material violation of the lease within 6 months of being given a first cure or quit notice.
A 15 day conditional notice to cure or quit must be used for all other lease violations.
Access to Property
Landlords must provide two days advance notice to enter their rental property.
There is no statute addressing a tenant who’s a victim of domestic violence, but the court may enter any order it believes will eliminate future acts of domestic violence and abuse.
Kentucky Lease Agreement
Kentucky Landlord-Tenant Law Statutes
Kentucky Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 383.010 to 383.715.