A summary of Louisiana Landlord Tenant Laws based on state law statutes as they apply to residential lease agreements executed between landlords and tenants.
Security Deposit Limit
There is no state imposed limit on security deposits.
Deadline for Returning Security Deposit
The security deposit must be returned within one month after the tenant has moved out.
Small Claims Lawsuits
For damages not exceeding $5,000 (but there is no limit for eviction cases), landlord-tenant disputes may be filed in the Justice of the Peace Court (rural areas) or in small claims court (urban areas).
Louisiana state law does not cover late fees. Therefore, the lease agreement must dictate what happens when rent is late. If it does not, then no fee can be assessed.
Louisiana does not have a state statute regarding regarding changing the amount of rent. As a general rule, month-to-month tenancy should allow for a 10 day notice to increase rent and longer term lease agreements must govern themselves by specifying increases (if any).
Tenant’s Right to Withhold Rent
In general, Louisiana law does not allow for a tenant to withhold rent if a landlord fails to make timely repairs. However, if a landlord fails to provide a habitable unit or violates the maintenance terms of a lease agreement, the law often allows a tenant to cancel the lease and move.
Termination and Eviction
An unconditional quit notice allowing 5 days to vacate or face eviction can be used on any tenant failing to pay rent, using dwelling for a purpose other than the intended purpose (lease may specify shorter or longer notice, or eliminate requirement of notice), or upon termination of the lease for any reason.
A 5 day conditional notice to cure or quit can be used for any lease violation.
Female or male tenants that are victims of domestic violence may have certain exceptions granted to them such as:
- Prohibits local housing authority from terminating the tenancy of a victim of domestic, dating, or family violence. The authority may terminate the tenancy of the perpetrator of the violence.
- If a victim of domestic violence is awarded temporary custody of minor children (born of both victim and
abuser), a judge may grant possession of housing to the victim and exclude the abuser even if the abuser solely owns the residence.
Louisiana Lease Agreement
Louisiana Landlord-Tenant Law Statutes
Louisiana Rev. Stat. Ann. §§ 9:3251 to 9:3261; La. Civ. Code Ann. art. 2668 to 2729.