A summary of Ohio Landlord Tenant Laws based on state law statutes as they apply to residential lease agreements executed between landlords and tenants.
Required Disclosures (by Landlords)
Contact Information: Every written rental agreement must contain the name and address of the owner and the name and address of the owner’s agent, if any. If the owner or the owner’s agent is a corporation, partnership, limited partnership, association, trust, or other entity, the address must be the principal place of business in the county in which the residential property is situated. If there is no place of business in such county, then its principal place of business in this state must be disclosed, including the name of the person in charge thereof. (Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 5321.18)
Security Deposit Limit
Ohio has no state limit on security deposits. However, if the tenancy is six months or longer, the landlord must pay an interest rate of 5% on the security deposit annually.
Deadline for Returning Security Deposit
The landlord has 30 days to return the security deposit once the tenancy has ended.
Small Claims Lawsuits
$3,000 is the maximum limit for any case (including landlord-tenant matters) filed in small claims court.
Ohio does not legislate late fees. Therefore the rental agreement must specifically reference when and how much of a late fee can be charged in order for them to be enforceable.
As with late fees, Ohio does not have a state statute on the amount of notice required to raise rent. Therefore, the rental agreement must mention how much and when. Otherwise, the rent cannot be changed.
Tenant’s Right to Withhold Rent
When it comes to essential repairs affecting the health or safety of the tenant or the unit’s habitability, the tenant may withhold rent as outlined in Ohio Rev. Code Ann. § 5321.07. Note: This law does not apply to student tenants or for landlords that own three or fewer units, but the landlord must notify the tenant in writing of this exception.
Termination and Eviction
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §§ 1923.02 to 1923.04, 5321.17 gives the landlord the right to use an unconditional 3 day notice to quit for nonpayment of rent; violation of a written lease or rental agreement; when the landlord has “reasonable cause to believe” that the tenant has used, sold, or manufactured an illegal drug on the premises (conviction or arrest not required)
Access to Property
24 hour notice is required to enter the property.
Oh. Rev. Code Ann. §3113.31 permits the court to grant possession of the residence to the petitioner or other household member, to the exclusion of the respondent, when the residence or is owned or leased solely by the petitioner or other household member, or household is jointly owned or leased by the respondent, and the petitioner or household member. Statute provides that no protection order shall
Ohio Lease Agreement
Ohio Landlord-Tenant Law Statutes
Ohio Rev. Code Ann. §§ 5321.01 to 5321.19.