A summary of Oklahoma Landlord Tenant Laws based on state law statutes as they apply to residential lease agreements executed between landlords and tenants.
Required Disclosures (by Landlords)
Flooding: If the premises to be rented has been flooded within the past five (5) years and such fact is known to the landlord, the landlord shall include such information prominently and in writing as part of any written rental agreements. (41 Okla. St. Ann. § 113a)
Contact Information: As a part of any rental agreement the lessor shall prominently and in writing identify what person at what address is entitled to accept service or notice under this act. Landlord must disclose to the tenant in writing at or before the commencement of the tenancy the name and address of the person authorized to manage the premises, and an owner of the premises or a person authorized to act for and on behalf of the owner for the purpose of service of process and receiving notices and demands. (41 Okla. St. Ann. § 116)
Security Deposit Limit
Oklahoma has no limit.
Deadline for Returning Security Deposit
Landlords have 45 days to give the deposit back after tenants move out.
Small Claims Lawsuits
Lawsuits up to $7,500 can be filed in small claims court.
There is no state statute, so the lease must address late fees.
Month-to-month tenancy requires a 30 day notice to make changes. Lease agreements of a longer term govern themselves.
Tenant’s Right to Withhold Rent
Rent withholding may occur according to Oklahoma Stat. Ann. tit. 41, § 121. Repairing problems neglected by landlords and deducting the cost from rent must follow Oklahoma Stat. Ann. tit. 41, § 121.
Termination and Eviction
Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 41, § 132 authorizes the landlord to immediately terminate tenancy with an unconditional quit notice for any criminal or drug-related activity or repeated violation of the lease. All other violations require a 10 day notice to cure with an additional 5 days to vacate according to Oklahoma Stat. Ann. tit. 41, § 132(A), (B).
Access to Property
A one day advance notice is required before entry.
Okla. Stat. Ann. §60.4 states that the court may impose any conditions in the protective order that are “necessary” to bring about cessation of domestic abuse against victim. There is no specific mention regarding removal or exclusion of respondent from the residence. There is a provision stating that the protective order shall not affect title to real property.
Oklahoma Lease Agreement
Oklahoma Landlord-Tenant Law Statutes
Oklahoma Stat. Ann. tit. 41, §§ 101 to 136.