A summary of Utah Landlord Tenant Laws based on state law statutes as they apply to residential lease agreements executed between landlords and tenants.
Required Disclosures (by Landlords)
Rental Inventory: Landlords must give prospective renters a written inventory of the condition of the residential rental unit, excluding ordinary wear and tear; give the renter a form to document the condition of the residential rental and allow the resident a reasonable time after the renter’s occupancy of the unit to complete and return the form; or provide the prospective renter an opportunity to conduct a walkthrough inspection of the rental. (Utah Code. Ann. § 57-22-4)
Security Deposit Limit
The state of Utah does not have a statutory limit. However, all fees collected that are nonrefundable must be disclosed.
Deadline for Returning Security Deposit
The landlord has 30 days to return the deposit after tenant vacates.
Small Claims Lawsuits
Landlord-tenant disputes and others may be filed in small claims court for up to $10,000 in monetary damages.
The state of Utah does not legislate late fees so written rental agreements must provide details of such – otherwise, one cannot be charged.
Monthly tenancy agreements are typically changed with a 15 day notice. Terms exceeding 1 month must abide by whatever the written agreement states. No changes can be made unless both parties agree.
Tenant’s Rights to Repair and Deduct
Landlords must maintain a safe, habitable property. If an important repair is neglected, the tenant may have the right to fix the problem and deduct the cost from the rent according to Utah Code Ann. § 57-22-6(4)(a).
Termination and Eviction
Utah Code Ann. § 78B-6-802 authorizes the landlord to use an unconditional 3 day notice to quit for any tenant holding over, assigning or subletting without permission, substantial damage to the property, carrying on an unlawful business on the premises, maintaining a nuisance, committing a criminal act on the premises
A conditional 3 day notice to cure or quit may be used for other lease violations.
Access to Property
24 hour advance notice must be given prior to entry.
House Bill 184 (2005) created § 57-22-5.1 which states that if a domestic violence victim provides evidence of violence, landlord must change tenant’s locks.
Utah Code Ann. § 30-6-4.2 allows court to grant additional orders for relief that are necessary to provide for the safety and welfare of petitioner and any family members.
Utah Lease Agreement
Utah Landlord-Tenant Law Statutes
Utah Code Ann. §§ 57-17-1 to 57-17-5, 57-22-1 to 57-22-7.