A summary of Vermont Landlord Tenant Laws based on state law statutes as they apply to residential lease agreements executed between landlords and tenants.
Security Deposit Limit
Vermont does not have a limit at least at the state level.
Deadline for Returning Security Deposit
Residential leases intended as a primary residence must have the security deposit returned within 14 days after the tenant vacates. If the property was used as a seasonal rental, then the landlord has up to 60 days to return the deposit.
Small Claims Lawsuits
The limit for filing a small claim lawsuit in Vermont is $5,000.
There’s no statute in Vermont addressing late fees which leaves it all up to what’s written in the lease agreement.
Month-to-month rentals require at least a 60 day advance written notice to change the terms of the agreement. Lease agreements proving for a longer term must contain a provision for increasing the rent or no changes can be made until it comes up for renewal and both parties agree.
Tenant’s Right to Withhold Rent
Vermont Stat. Ann. tit. 9 § 4458 grants tenants the right to withhold rent if the landlord neglects to take care of important repairs. Vermont Stat. Ann. tit. 9 § 4459 gives the tenant the option to make the necessary repairs and then deduct the cost from the monthly rent payment.
Termination and Eviction
Vermont Stat. Ann. tit. 9, § 4467 permits a 30 day unconditional quit notice to be used when three previous notices were issued for nonpayment (or late rent) within a 12 month period or for any other violation of the lease or landlord-tenant laws in the state.
Access to Property
A 48 hour notice is required before entry.
Vermont Stat. Ann. tit. 15, §1103 states that if a court finds that the defendant has abused the plaintiff, it may order the defendant to vacate the household and award plaintiff exclusive possession of the residence.
Vermont Lease Agreement
Vermont Landlord-Tenant Statutes
Vermont Stat. Ann. tit. 9, §§ 4451 to 4469a.