Month-to-Month Tenancy Termination

This is a summary of each state’s laws as it pertains to either a landlord or tenant providing notice to terminate a month-to-month tenancy. Please note: These time frames are not used for holding over or other tenancy violations which may require different time frames and conditions, see State Eviction Laws for Curable Violations or State Eviction Laws for Incurable Violations.

State Landlord Tenant
Alabama 30 days 30 days
Alaska 30 days 30 days
Arizona 30 days 30 days
Arkansas 10 days No statute
California 60 days for tenancies lasting 12 months or more. 30 days for less than 12 months. 30 days
Colorado 10 days 10 days
Connecticut 3 days No statute
Delaware 60 days 60 days
District of Columbia 30 days 30 days
Florida 15 days 15 days
Georgia 60 days 30 days
Hawaii 45 days 28 days
Idaho 1 month 1 month
Illinois 30 days 30 days
Indiana 1 month 1 month
Iowa 30 days 30 days
Kansas 30 days 30 days
Kentucky 30 days 30 days
Louisiana 10 days 10 days
Maine 30 days 30 days
Maryland 1 month; 2 months if property located in Montgomery County (except single-family residences) or in Baltimore City. 1 month; 2 months if property located in Montgomery County (except single-family residences) or in Baltimore City.
Massachusetts 30 days or the time frame is between rental payments, whichever is longer. 30 days or the time frame is between rental payments, whichever is longer.
Michigan Time frame between rental payments. Time frame between rental payments.
Minnesota 3 months or time frame between rental payments, whichever is shorter. 3 months or time frame between rental payments, whichever is shorter.
Mississippi 30 days 30 days
Missouri 1 month 1 month
Montana 30 days 30 days
Nebraska 30 days 30 days
Nevada 30 days 30 days
New Hampshire 30 days 30 days
New Jersey 1 month 1 month
New Mexico 30 days 30 days
New York 1 month 1 month
North Carolina 7 days 7 days
North Dakota 30 days 30 days; if landlord has notified tenant of a change in lease terms, then 25 days from date of notification.
Ohio 30 days 30 days
Oklahoma 30 days 30 days
Oregon 30 days 30 days
Pennsylvania No statute No statute
Rhode Island 30 days 30 days
South Carolina 30 days 30 days
South Dakota 1 month 1 month; if landlord has notified tenant of a change in lease terms, then 15 days from date of notification.
Tennessee 30 days 30 days
Texas 1 month 1 month
Utah 15 days No statute
Vermont 30 days is there is a written lease and tenant has resided at the property for 2 years or less, 60 days if longer; 60 days if there is no lease and the tenant has resided at the property for 2 years or less, 90 days if longer. 1 rental period
Virginia 30 days 30 days
Washington 20 days 20 days
West Virginia 1 month 1 month
Wisconsin 28 days 28 days
Wyoming No statute No statute