Pet Deposit Laws

The following is a summary of pet deposit laws across the United States. Many states do not have a statute about charging a pet deposit. Therefore, the most common practice is for both parties (landlord and tenant) to agree. Some of the states that do not legislate pet deposits do not allow any collected fees to be non-refundable.  If no limit is specified, than a reasonable amount is the most common practice.

State Summary Limit
Alabama Additional deposits, beyond the security deposit limit, are allowed for pets. Reasonable
Alaska No statute Reasonable
Arizona Non-refundable fee are allowed, the purpose of any non-refundable fee must be stated in writing to the tenant; all fees are refundable unless specifically designated as non-refundable. Reasonable
Arkansas No statute Reasonable
California Non-refundable fees are not allowed. Reasonable and must be refunded unless there are deductions.
Colorado No statute Reasonable
Connecticut No statute Reasonable
Delaware Additional pet deposits are allowed. 1 month’s rent
District of Columbia No statute Reasonable
Florida Non-refundable fees are not specifically addressed, but are customary. Reasonable
Georgia Non-refundable fees are not specifically addressed, but are customary. Reasonable
Hawaii Non-refundable fees are not allowed; only the first month’s rent and security deposit can be collected. No separate pet deposit is allowed.
Idaho No statute Reasonable
Illinois No statute Reasonable
Indiana No statute Reasonable
Iowa No statute Reasonable
Kansas Additional pet deposits are allowed. 1/2 month’s rent
Kentucky No statute Reasonable
Louisiana No statute Reasonable
Maine No statute Reasonable
Maryland No statute Reasonable
Massachusetts No statute Reasonable
Michigan No statute Reasonable
Minnesota No statute Reasonable
Mississippi No statute Reasonable
Missouri No statute Reasonable
Montana Non-refundable fees are not allowed. Reasonable and must be refunded unless there are deductions.
Nebraska Additional pet deposits are allowed. 1/4 month’s rent
Nevada Non-refundable fees are allowed; the purpose of any non-refundable fee must be indicated in the lease agreement. Reasonable
New Hampshire No statute Reasonable
New Jersey No statute Reasonable
New Mexico No statute Reasonable
New York No statute Reasonable
North Carolina Non-refundable pet deposits are allowed. Must be reasonable
North Dakota If there is a pet, the security deposit may be increased to a total of $2,500 or 2 month’s rent, whichever is greater. $2,500 or 2 month’s rent, which ever is greater
Ohio No statute Reasonable
Oklahoma No statute Reasonable
Oregon Non-refundable fees are allowed for reasonably anticipated landlord expenses as long as the fees are not excesssive. Reasonable and not excessive.
Pennsylvania No statute Reasonable
Rhode Island No statute Reasonable
South Carolina No statute Reasonable
South Dakota A security deposit exceeding the limit is allowed if special conditions pose a danger to the maintenance of the property and all parties agree. Reasonable
Tennessee No statute Reasonable
Texas No statute Reasonable
Utah Non-refundable fees are allowed; it is customary, though not specifically addressed in statutes, that the landlord must disclose in writing if any part of the security deposit is non-refundable when a written lease agreement is used. Reasonable
Vermont No statute Reasonable
Virginia No statute Reasonable
Washington Non-refundable fees are allowed; any non-refundable fees must be clearly indicated in the lease agreement as non-refundable. Reasonable
West Virginia No statute Reasonable
Wisconsin No statute Reasonable
Wyoming Non-refundable fees are allowed; the landlord must disclose in writing, before accepting the deposit, if any part of the security deposit in non-refundable, and the lease agreement must indicate this as well. Reasonable