Returned (Bounced) Check Fees for Rent Payments

Learn what a landlord may charge as a separate fee when a tenant writes a check for rent and it’s returned as unpaid [known as non-sufficient funds (NSF)]. Unlike retail merchants, landlords can easily enforce the collection of unpaid rent and bounced checks. Here’s what state laws say about how much you may charge for a returned check:

State Maximum Permissible Fee
Alabama $30
Alaska $30
Arizona $25
Arkansas $25
California $25
Colorado $20
Connecticut $20
Delaware $40
District of Columbia $20
Florida $25 if check amount is < or = to $50
$30 if check amount is < or = to $300
$40 = if check amount is < or = to $800
5% of the check amount if > $800
Georgia $30 if check amount is < or = to $600
5% of the check amount if > $600
Hawaii $30
Idaho $20 or amount of check, whichever is less
Illinois $25
Indiana $20
Iowa $30
Kansas $30
Kentucky $25
Louisiana $25 if check amount is < or = to $500
5% of check amount if > $500
Maine $25
Maryland $35
Massachusetts $25
Michigan $25
Minnesota $30
Mississippi $40
Missouri $25
Montana $30
Nebraska $25
Nevada $25
New Hampshire $25
New Jersey $25
New Mexico $20
New York $20
North Carolina $25
North Dakota $25
Ohio $30 if check amount is < or = to $300
10% of check amount if > $300
Oklahoma $25
Oregon $25
Pennsylvania $25
Rhode Island $25
South Carolina $30
South Dakota $30
Tennessee $30
Texas $30
Utah $20
Vermont $25
Virginia $35
Washington $25
West Virginia $25
Wisconsin $25
Wyoming $30