Colorado Security Deposit Laws

Colorado Security Deposit Limit

There is no statute limiting how much landlords may charge for the security deposit.

Deadline for Returning Security Deposit

Landlords must return a security deposit within one month, unless the lease agreement specifies a longer period of time (up to a maximum of 60 days). Deposits must be returned within 72 hours (not counting weekends or holidays) if a hazardous condition involving gas equipment required the tenant to leave.