Kansas Security Deposit Laws

Kansas Security Deposit Limit

A landlord may charge the equivalent of one month’s rent for the security deposit if the rental is unfurnished and 1 1/2 months’ rent for a furnished rental. In addition, a half month’s rent may be charged for pets. The law does not apply to an employee of the landlord, such as an onsite manager, whose right to occupancy is conditioned upon employment at the property.

Deadline for Returning Security Deposit

The security deposit must be returned within 30 days after the tenant has moved out.