Montana Security Deposit Limit
Montana has no state law limiting security deposits. However, nonrefundable fees are not permitted. A fee or charge for cleaning and damages, no matter how designated, is presumed to be a security deposit. (Mon. Code Ann. § 70-25-101 (4)).
Deadline for Returning Security Deposit
Once the tenant has moved out and returned the keys, the landlord must return the deposit within 10 days if there are no deductions or 30 days if there are deductions (an itemized statement must be included). However, tenants must receive advance notice of a deduction for cleaning charges that are considered a result of tenant negligence.