West Virginia Security Deposit Laws

West Virginia Security Deposit Limit

West Virginia does not limit the amount of a deposit.

Deadline for Returning Security Deposit

The security deposit must be returned within 60 days from the last day of tenancy or 45 days from the date a new tenant moves in (if the total amount of time is shorter than 60 days). If it’s discovered that the premises have damage exceeding the amount of the security deposit, an additional 15 days is allowed for the landlord to provide the tenant an itemized statement of deductions.