Menu Close

Louisiana Eviction Forms and Laws

Learn about the Louisiana eviction process and notice requirements.

Louisiana Eviction Process

The information contained within is intended for residential landlords in Louisiana and does not encompass commercial or agricultural property.

Eviction Proceedings

1. Prepare a notice to quit. Before a formal court filing can occur, a landlord needs to prepare the proper notice to terminate the tenancy:

2. Eviction proceedings are filed. If the tenant fails to the landlord’s notice, eviction proceedings can begin with the filing the case with the local court using a court information sheet, petition for eviction, and soldier’s/sailor’s affidavit.

4. Tenant is served. After the filing of all documents, the court issues an order to show cause and schedules a hearing date. These documents are then t is served by a constable.

5. Warrant for possession. If the tenant fails to show up or fails to argue an acceptable defense, the court will issue a judgment in favor of the landlord. The judgment allows the landlord to ask the court for a warrant for possession if the tenant still occupies the property and refuses to leave.

Notice to Quit

There are a few different notices that may be used to initiate eviction proceedings. Choose the one that best describes your needs.
Nonpayment of Rent

A 5 Day Notice to Pay or Quit demands a tenant to pay the outstanding rent within 5 days or move out.

Violations Other than Late Rent

A 5 Day Notice to Cure or Quit is to demand a tenant correct any material violations within 10 days or move out.

Month-to-Month Termination

A 10 Day Notice to Quit is to end a tenancy-at-will, usually a monthly rental contract.

More Kansas Eviction Information