Menu Close

Colorado 10 Day Notice to Cure or Quit


A free Colorado 10 Day Notice to Cure or Quit that may be used for the nonpayment or rent and other tenancy violations. This is a single page PDF document.

See the Colorado Notice to Quit for terminating a month-to-month tenancy.

This free Colorado 10 Day Notice to Cure or Quit is also known as the Demand for Compliance or Right to Possession Notice (Form JDF 101). It is used to notify a tenant when they didn’t pay rent or violated some other term of their tenancy. C.R.S. 13-40-104(1)(d)

The purpose of this notice is to demand a tenant to either bring the rent current or fix another violation (if applicable) or move within 10 days of being served. If the tenant does not act or surrender the premises, the landlord may file forcible entry and detainer lawsuit to seek the court’s assistance in taking possession of the property from the tenant.

How to Fill Out

Step 1 – Complete the name of the county where the rental property is located.

Step 2 – Add the name of the tenant(s) next to “To”.

Step 3 – Choose from one of several options to specify the time frame for the notice. Unless there are substantial violations like the manufacturing of methamphetamines on the premises, the 10 day time frame will most likely apply.

Step 4 – Enter the street address, city and county of the rental property address along with its subdivision, lot, and block number.

Step 5 – Identify the actions needed if the tenant wants to retain possession of the property by checking the appropriate covenant/condition box. This would include entering the total amount of rent due and/or the violations committed that need to be cured.

Step 6 – Below the covenant/condition section, enter the amount of the rent that is required each month to keep the lease agreement in effect.

Step 7 – Sign and date the document and then complete the Return of Service section as to how the tenant was served this notice.

Colorado Eviction Laws
Rent Grace Period: According to the terms of the lease agreement. C.R.S. 13-40-104
Nonpayment of Rent: 10 days. § 13-40-104(d)
Noncompliance: 10 days. § 13-40-107.5(4)(a)
Termination (Month-to-Month Lease) § 13-40.1-101:

  • 1 day (<1 wk)
  • 3 days (1 wk to <1 mo)
  • 7 days (1 mo to <6 mos)
  • 28 days (6 mos to <1 yr)
  • 91 days (>1 yr).

Eviction Lawsuit: Forcible entry and detainer § 13-40.1-101

Please read our Terms of Use. is not a substitute for consulting with a legal professional specializing in landlord-tenant law.