Menu Close

Maine Eviction Forms and Laws

Learn about the Maine eviction process and notice requirements.

Maine Eviction Process

The information contained within is intended for residential landlords in Maine and does not encompass commercial or agricultural property.

Forcible Entry and Detainer

1. Prepare a notice to quit. Before a formal court filing can occur, a landlord needs to prepare the proper notice to terminate the tenancy:

2. Eviction proceedings are filed. If the tenant fails to comply with the landlord’s notice, eviction proceedings can begin with the filing of forms CV-007 (complaint) and CV-034 (summons). Assistance with these forms may be obtained from the local clerk’s office.

4. Tenant is served. After the filing of all documents, the tenant must be served at least days before the scheduled court date. The landlord must give copies of the complaint and summons to the sheriff which will then serve the tenant.

5. Writ of possession. If the tenant fails to show up or fails to argue an acceptable defense, the court will issue a judgment in favor of the landlord. The judgment allows the landlord to ask the court for a writ of possession to empower the sheriff to remove the tenant if they still occupy the property.

Notice to Quit

There are a few different notices that may be used to initiate eviction proceedings. Choose the one that best describes your needs.
Nonpayment of Rent

A 7 Day Notice to Pay or Quit demands a tenant to pay the outstanding rent within 7 days or move out.

Violations Other than Late Rent

A 7 Day Notice to Cure or Quit is to demand a tenant correct any material violations within 7 days or move out.

Month-to-Month Termination

A 30 Day Notice to Quit is to month-to-month rental contract.

More Maine Eviction Information