When a tenant doesn’t pay rent on time, a landlord may serve them with a Maine 7 Day Notice to Pay or Quit to demand the rent be paid within 7 days or move out. If the tenant doesn’t act by the end of the seventh day, the landlord may file an eviction lawsuit.
What Does Maine Law Say?
How to Fill Out
Step 1 – Write the name(s) the tenant(s).
Step 2 – Identify the period of time for which rent remains unpaid.
Step 3 – Enter the past due amount of rent.
Step 4 – Add the rental property address.
Step 5 – Give a deadline (at least 7 days) when the rent must be brought current.
Step 6 – Sign and date.
Step 7 – Serve the tenant with the notice and complete the record of service section stating who, how and when the tenant was served.