A Maine Month-to-Month Lease Agreement is intended for landlords and tenants that wish to enter into a rental contract without a long term commitment. This lease provides a monthly stay that automatically renews and can be canceled with a 30 day notice issued by either party to the agreement.
What Does Maine Law Say?
Tenancies at will must be terminated by either party by a minimum of 30 days’ notice, except as provided in subsections 2 and 4, in writing for that purpose given to the other party, but if the landlord or the landlord’s agent has made at least 3 good faith efforts to serve the tenant, that service may be accomplished by both mailing the notice by first class mail to the tenant’s last known address and by leaving the notice at the tenant’s last and usual place of abode. In cases when the tenant has paid rent through the date when a 30-day notice would expire, the notice must expire on or after the date through which the rent has been paid. Either party may waive in writing the 30 days’ notice at the time the notice is given, and at no other time prior to the giving of the notice.
Maine Landlord-Tenant Laws