When a tenant violates a lease for reasons other than not paying rent, a landlord may serve them with a Maine 7 Day Notice to Cure or Quit to demand the violation(s) be corrected or move out. If the tenant doesn’t act by the end of the seventh day, the landlord may file an eviction lawsuit.
What Does Maine Law Say?
…the tenancy may be terminated upon 7 days’ written notice in the event that the landlord can show, by affirmative proof, that:
A. The tenant, the tenant’s family or an invitee of the tenant has caused substantial damage to the demised premises that the tenant has not repaired or caused to be repaired before the giving of the notice provided in this subsection;
B. The tenant, the tenant’s family or an invitee of the tenant caused or permitted a nuisance within the premises, has caused or permitted an invitee to cause the dwelling unit to become unfit for human habitation or has violated or permitted a violation of the law regarding the tenancy;
The tenant is 7 days or more in arrears in the payment of rent; (See Maine 7 Day Notice to Pay or Quit
D. The tenant is a perpetrator of domestic violence, sexual assault or stalking and the victim is also a tenant;
The tenant or the tenant’s guest or invitee is the perpetrator of violence, a threat of violence or sexual assault against another tenant, a tenant’s guest, the landlord or the landlord’s employee or agent, except that this paragraph does not apply to a tenant who is a victim as defined in section 6000, subsection 4
and who has taken reasonable action under the circumstances to comply with the landlord’s request for protection of the tenant, another tenant, a tenant’s guest or invitee, the landlord or the landlord’s employee or agent or of the landlord’s property; or
F. The person occupying the premises is not an authorized occupant of the premises.
How to Fill Out
Step 1 – Write the name(s) the tenant(s).
Step 2 – Add the rental property address.
Step 3 – Itemize each violation.
Step 4 – Give a deadline (at least 7 days) when the violation(s) must be corrected.
Step 5 – Sign and date.
Step 6 – Serve the tenant with the notice and complete the record of service section stating who, how and when the tenant was served.