Menu Close

Maine 30 Day Notice to Quit


Landlords may terminate a short term rental using this Maine 30 Day Notice to Quit. This is a single page PDF document.

See the Rental Application with Co-Applicant for applicant screening.

When a landlord wants to end a short term tenancy-at-will, they may serve a tenant with a Maine 30 Day Notice to Quit. If the tenant doesn’t act by the end of the 30th day, the landlord may file an eviction lawsuit for holding over.

What Does Maine Law Say?

§ 6002 Tenancies at will must be terminated by either party by a minimum of 30 days’ notice, except as provided in subsections 2 and 4, in writing for that purpose given to the other party, but if the landlord or the landlord’s agent has made at least 3 good faith efforts to serve the tenant, that service may be accomplished by both mailing the notice by first class mail to the tenant’s last known address and by leaving the notice at the tenant’s last and usual place of abode. In cases when the tenant has paid rent through the date when a 30-day notice would expire, the notice must expire on or after the date through which the rent has been paid. Either party may waive in writing the 30 days’ notice at the time the notice is given, and at no other time prior to the giving of the notice.

How to Fill Out

Step 1 – Write the name(s) the tenant(s).

Step 2 – Add the rental property address.

Step 3 – Give a deadline (at least 30 days) when the tenant must vacate.

Step 4 – Sign and date.

Step 5 – Serve the tenant with the notice and complete the record of service section stating who, how and when the tenant was served.

Maine Eviction Laws
Rent Grace Period: 7 days. § 6002(1)(C)
Nonpayment of Rent: 7 days. § 6002(1)(C)
Noncompliance: 7 days. § 6002(1)(B)
Termination (Month-to-Month Lease): 30 days. § 6002)
Eviction Lawsuit: Forcible Entry and Detainer. Chapter 709: Entry and Detainer

Please read our Terms of Use. is not a substitute for consulting with a legal professional specializing in landlord-tenant law.