Menu Close

Delaware Immediate Notice to Quit


A Delaware Immediate Notice to Quit that’s used when tenant’s violation is deemed to have caused irreparable harm. This is a 2 page PDF document.

See the Rental Application with Co-Applicant and screen subtenants thoroughly.

A Delaware Immediate Notice to Quit is reserved for those lease violations by a tenant that make it necessary to lawfully terminate tenancy without delay due to irreparable harm. While the law may allow for a landlord to expect the tenant to move out within a few hours, this notice actually allows the tenant 24 hours to surrender possession and remove their personal belongings.

What Does Delaware Law Say?

§ 5513(b) When a breach by a tenant causes or threatens to cause irreparable harm to any person or property, or the tenant is convicted of a class A misdemeanor or felony during the term of the tenancy which caused or threatened to cause irreparable harm to any person or property, the landlord may, without notice, remedy the breach and bill the tenant as provided in subsection (a) of this section; immediately terminate the rental agreement upon notice to the tenant and bring an action for summary possession; or do both.

How to Fill Out

Step 1 – Complete the full name of the tenant(s).

Step 2 – Enter the rental property address.

Step 3 – List the violation(s) that prompted this notice.

Step 4 – The landlord must sign and date.

Step 5 – Once the notice is served on the tenant(s), the person who served the notice must attest to how it was delivered and when by completing the Record of Service section.

Delaware Eviction Laws
Rent Grace Period: 5 days. § 5501(d)
Nonpayment of Rent: 5 days. Title 25 § 5502
Noncompliance: 7 days. Title 25 § 5513
Irreparable Harm: Immediate. § 5513(b)
Termination (Month-to-Month Lease): 60 days. § 5106
Eviction Lawsuit: Tenant Obligations and Landlord Remedies Title 25, Chapter 55

Please read our Terms of Use. is not a substitute for consulting with a legal professional specializing in landlord-tenant law.