Menu Close

Florida 3 Day Notice to Pay or Quit


A Florida 3 Day Notice to Pay or Quit for the nonpayment of rent after the 3 day grace period has passed. This is a 2 page PDF document.

See the Florida 7 Day Notice to Cure or Quit for violations other that the nonpayment of rent.

A Florida 3 Day Notice to Pay or Quit is the most common eviction notice in the state because it enforces the issue of unpaid rent. The purpose of this form is to notify the tenant of how much is past due and demand it be paid in full within 3 days (with some exclusions). The notice does not allow for partial payments, so if the rent is not paid, the landlord may terminate the tenancy and file a forcible entry and unlawful detainer action in the county civil court.

What Does Florida Law Say?

§ 83.56(3) If the tenant fails to pay rent when due and the default continues for 3 days, excluding Saturday, Sunday, and legal holidays, after delivery of written demand by the landlord for payment of the rent or possession of the premises, the landlord may terminate the rental agreement. Legal holidays for the purpose of this section shall be court-observed holidays only.

How to Fill Out

Step 1 – Complete the full name of the tenant(s).

Step 2 – Identify the rental period that has not been paid.

Step 3 – Enter the total amount owed.

Step 4 – Provide the property address, city and county.

Step 5 – The landlord must sign and date.

Step 6 – Once the notice is served on the tenant(s), the person who served the notice must attest to how and when it was delivered by completing the Record of Service section.

Florida Eviction Laws
Rent Grace Period: Dictated by the lease
Nonpayment of Rent: 3 days. § 83.56(3)
Noncompliance: 7 days. § 83.56(2)(a), § 83.56(2)(b)
Termination (Month-to-Month Lease): 15 days. § 83.57(3)
Eviction Lawsuit: Forcible Entry and Unlawful Detainer Chapter 82

Please read our Terms of Use. is not a substitute for consulting with a legal professional specializing in landlord-tenant law.