Menu Close

Florida 7 Day Notice to Cure or Quit


A Florida 7 Day Notice to Cure or Quit for demanding a tenant to fix a current violation or vacate the premises for repeating a violation within the past 12 months. This is a 2 page PDF document.

See the Rental Application with Co-Applicant for screening tenants.

A Florida 7 Day Notice to Pay or Quit is used to notify a tenant of their noncompliance and demand they cure the problem or vacate the premises within 7 days. This notice does not allow for partial remedies, so the landlord has the option to terminate the tenancy and file a forcible entry and unlawful detainer action if the noncompliance is not fully resolved.

What Does Florida Law Say?

 § 83.56(2)(a) If such noncompliance is of a nature that the tenant should not be given an opportunity to cure it or if the noncompliance constitutes a subsequent or continuing noncompliance within 12 months of a written warning by the landlord of a similar violation, deliver a written notice to the tenant specifying the noncompliance and the landlord’s intent to terminate the rental agreement by reason thereof. Examples of noncompliance which are of a nature that the tenant should not be given an opportunity to cure include, but are not limited to, destruction, damage, or misuse of the landlord’s or other tenants’ property by intentional act or a subsequent or continued unreasonable disturbance. In such event, the landlord may terminate the rental agreement, and the tenant shall have 7 days from the date that the notice is delivered to vacate the premises.

How to Fill Out

Step 1 – Complete the full name of the tenant(s).

Step 2 – Enter the address of the rental property, including county.

Step 3 – Identify the violation(s) which prompted this notice.

Step 4 – Select the applicable demand being made.

Step 5 – The landlord must sign and date.

Step 6 – Once the notice is served on the tenant(s), the person who served the notice must attest to how and when it was delivered by completing the Record of Service section.

Florida Eviction Laws
Rent Grace Period: Dictated by the lease
Nonpayment of Rent: 3 days. § 83.56(3)
Noncompliance: 7 days. § 83.56(2)(a), § 83.56(2)(b)
Termination (Month-to-Month Lease): 15 days. § 83.57(3)
Eviction Lawsuit: Forcible Entry and Unlawful Detainer Chapter 82

Please read our Terms of Use. is not a substitute for consulting with a legal professional specializing in landlord-tenant law.