A Georgia Notice to Pay or Quit demands a tenant to pay their past due rent or their tenancy will be terminated and enforced by dispossessory proceedings. While this notice calls for an immediate demand of payment, the landlord can provide an actual deadline by which rent must be received to avoid termination.
What Does Georgia Law Say?
(a) In all cases when a tenant holds possession of lands or tenements over and beyond the term for which they were rented or leased to such tenant or fails to pay the rent when it becomes due and in all cases when lands or tenements are held and occupied by any tenant at will or sufferance, whether under contract of rent or not, when the owner of such lands or tenements desires possession of such lands or tenements, such owner may, individually or by an agent, attorney in fact, or attorney at law, demand the possession of the property so rented, leased, held, or occupied. If the tenant refuses or fails to deliver possession when so demanded, the owner or the agent, attorney at law, or attorney in fact of such owner may immediately go before the judge of the superior court, the judge of the state court, or the clerk or deputy clerk of either court, or the judge or the clerk or deputy clerk of any other court with jurisdiction over the subject matter, or a magistrate in the district where the land lies and make an affidavit under oath to the facts. The affidavit may likewise be made before a notary public.
How to Fill Out
Step 1 – Complete the full name of the tenant(s).
Step 2 – Identify the rental period that has not been paid.
Step 3 – Enter the total amount owed.
Step 4 – Provide the property address, city and county.
Step 5 – Enter a deadline (day, month, year and time) for when rent must be received to avoid termination.
Step 6 – Once the notice is served on the tenant(s), the person who served the notice must attest to how and when it was delivered by completing the Record of Service section.
• Nonpayment of Rent: Immediate. § 44-7-50(a)
• Noncompliance: May be immediate (no statute).
• Termination (Month-to-Month Lease): Landlord, 60 days. Tenant, 30 days. § 44-7-7
• Eviction Lawsuit: Dispossessory proceedings § 44-7-49 – § 44-7-59