A Hawaii 15 Day Notice to Pay or Quit demands a tenant to pay their past due rent or their tenancy will be terminated and enforced by bringing a summary for possession proceeding. Until January 2023, this notice calls for a demand for payment that allows for at least 15 days to receive it. However, if the law reverts back to 5 days in 2023, this form allows for the landlord to specify the deadline for any amount of time. So this document is designed to maintain compliance with whatever time frame the law requires in Hawaii.
What Does Hawaii Law Say?
How to Fill Out
Step 1 – Complete the first and last name of the tenant(s).
Step 2 – Show the rental period for which rent has not been paid.
Step 3 – Enter the total amount of rent past due.
Step 4 – Provide the location of the rental property.
Step 5 – Enter the final day, month, year and time when rent must be received to avoid termination.
Step 6 – Once the notice is served on the tenant(s), the person who served the notice must attest to how and when it was delivered by completing the Record of Service section.
• Nonpayment of Rent: 15 days. § 521-68
• Noncompliance: 10 days. § 521-72
• Termination (Month-to-Month Lease): 45 days. § 521-71
• Eviction Lawsuit: Summary proceedings for possession § 521-61 – § 521-82.