Menu Close

Iowa 3 Day Notice to Pay or Quit


Download this IA 3 Day Notice to Pay or Quit to serve on a tenant who hasn’t paid their rent. This is a single page PDF document.

See the Rental Application with Co-Applicant to reduce risk by properly vetting applicants for tenancy.

Serve a delinquent tenant with this IA 3 Day Notice to Pay or Quit to demand the rent be paid within 3 days or they must vacate because the tenancy will be terminated.

What Does Iowa Law Say?

Statute 562A.27 2. If rent is unpaid when due and the tenant fails to pay rent within three days after written notice by the landlord of nonpayment and the landlord’s intention to terminate the rental agreement if the rent is not paid within that period of time, the landlord may terminate the rental agreement.

How to Fill Out

Step 1 – Enter the name(s) the tenant(s).

Step 2 – Show the period of tenancy for which the rent is late.

Step 3 – Add the total amount past due.

Step 4 – Enter the street address and city for the rental property.

Step 5 – Set a deadline (at least 3 days) when the rent must be paid in full.

Step 6 – Sign and date.

Step 7 – Serve the tenant with the notice and complete the record of service section stating who, how and when the tenant was served.

Iowa Eviction Laws
Rent Grace Period: Whatever is agreed upon in the lease (if any).
Nonpayment of Rent: 3 days. § 562A.27
Noncompliance: 7 days. § 562A.27(1)
Termination (Month-to-Month Lease): 30 days. § 562A.34 
Eviction Lawsuit: Forcible Entry and Detainer. Chapter 648

Please read our Terms of Use. is not a substitute for consulting with a legal professional specializing in landlord-tenant law.