Menu Close

Iowa 7 Day Notice to Cure or Quit


Most tenant violations in Iowa other than past due rent, may be addresses with this IA 7 Day Notice to Cure Quit. This is a single page PDF document.

See the Rental Application with Co-Applicant to investigate a tenant’s background.

When a tenant violates their tenancy other than for nonpayment and/or their responsibility to maintain the premises, this IA 7 Day Notice to Cure or Quit may be used to demand compliance or terminate tenancy in 7 days.

What Does Iowa Law Say?

§ 562A.27(1)…if there is a material noncompliance by the tenant with the rental agreement or a noncompliance with section 562A.17 materially affecting health and safety, the landlord may deliver a written notice to the tenant specifying the acts and omissions constituting the breach and that the rental agreement will terminate upon a date not less than seven days after receipt of the notice if the breach is not remedied in seven days, and the rental agreement shall terminate…
§ 562A.17  The tenant shall:

1. Comply with all obligations primarily imposed upon tenants by applicable provisions of building and housing codes materially affecting health and safety.

2. Keep that part of the premises that the tenant occupies and uses as clean and safe as the condition of the premises permit.

3. Dispose from the tenant’s dwelling unit all ashes, rubbish, garbage, and other waste in a clean and safe manner.

4. Keep all plumbing fixtures in the dwelling unit or used by the tenant as clean as their condition permits.

5. Use in a reasonable manner all electrical, plumbing, sanitary, heating, ventilating, air-conditioning and other facilities and appliances including elevators in the premises.

6. Not deliberately or negligently destroy, deface, damage, impair or remove a part of the premises or knowingly permit a person to do so. If damage, defacement, alteration, or destruction of property by the tenant is intentional, the tenant may be criminally charged with criminal mischief pursuant to chapter 716.

7. Act in a manner that will not disturb a neighbor’s peaceful enjoyment of the premises.

How to Fill Out

Step 1 – Write the tenant’s name.

Step 2 – List their violations.

Step 3 – Provide the address of the rental property.

Step 4 – Sign and date.

Step 5 – Serve the tenant with the notice and complete the record of service section stating who, how and when the tenant was served.

Iowa Eviction Laws
Rent Grace Period: Whatever is agreed upon in the lease (if any).
Nonpayment of Rent: 3 days. § 562A.27
Noncompliance: 7 days. § 562A.27(1)
Termination (Month-to-Month Lease): 30 days. § 562A.34 
Eviction Lawsuit: Forcible Entry and Detainer. Chapter 648

Please read our Terms of Use. is not a substitute for consulting with a legal professional specializing in landlord-tenant law.