Menu Close

Iowa 30 Day Notice to Quit


Landlords, this IA 30 Day Notice to Quit to cancels a month-to-month lease in Iowa. A single page PDF document.

See the Rental Application with Co-Applicant to run a tenant background check.

End a monthly rental agreement a month in advance at anytime with this IA 30 Day Notice to Cure or Quit.

What Does Iowa Law Say?

562A.34 The landlord or the tenant may terminate a month-to-month tenancy by a written notice
given to the other at least thirty days prior to the periodic rental date specified in the notice

How to Fill Out

Step 1 – Write the tenant’s name.

Step 2 – Add the rental property address.

Step 3 – Provide a specific final day for the monthly rental agreement.

Step 4 – Sign and date.

Step 5 – Serve the tenant with the notice and complete the record of service section stating who, how and when the tenant was served.

Iowa Eviction Laws
Rent Grace Period: Whatever is agreed upon in the lease (if any).
Nonpayment of Rent: 3 days. § 562A.27
Noncompliance: 7 days. § 562A.27(1)
Termination (Month-to-Month Lease): 30 days. § 562A.34 
Eviction Lawsuit: Forcible Entry and Detainer. Chapter 648

Please read our Terms of Use. is not a substitute for consulting with a legal professional specializing in landlord-tenant law.