State Eviction Laws for Curable Violations

This is a summary of each state’s requirements for providing notice regarding curable lease violations prior to filing an eviction. Under most states, tenants are entitled to 1) be notified of the lease violation and 2) be given a certain amount of time to correct the problem or vacate before an eviction is filed (known as “cure or quit”). However, some violations under certain states do not allow for a chance to cure, tenants must simply leave or be evicted. For a list of lease violations permitting the use of unconditional quit notices, see State Eviction Laws for Incurable Violations.

State Statute Amount of Time to Cure the Violation
or Vacate Before Eviction Filing
Alabama Ala. Code § 35-A-421 14 calendar days, but if last day falls on a weekend or official holiday, the last day will be the court’s next official business day.
Alaska Alaska Stat. §§ 09.45.090,
34.03.220
10 days for violators of agreement materially affecting health and safety; 3 days to cure for failing to pay utility bills, resulting in shut-off, additional 2 days to vacate.
Arizona Ariz. Rev. Stat. § 33-1368 5 days for violations materially affecting health and safety; 10 days for other violations of the lease terms.
Arkansas No statute Landlord can terminate with an unconditional quit notice.
California Cal. Civ. Proc. Code § 1161(3) 3 days
Colorado Colo. Rev. Stat.
§ 13-40-104(1)(d.5), (e)
3 days (no cure for certain substantial violations).
Connecticut Conn. Gen. Stat. Ann. § 47a-15 15 days; no right to cure for nonpayment of rent or serious nuisance.
Delaware Del. Code Ann. tit. 25, § 5513(a) 7 days
District of Columbia D.C. Code § 42-3505.01 30 days
Florida Fla. Stat. Ann. § 83.56(2) 7 days (no cure for certain substantial violations).
Georgia No statute Landlord can terminate with an Unconditional Quit notice.
Hawaii Haw. Rev. Stat. §§ 521-72, 666-3 10 days notice to cure: if it has not ceased, must wait another 20 days to file for eviction; 24 hours to cease a nuisance: if it has not ceased in 24 hours, 5 days to cure before filing for eviction.
Idaho Idaho Code § 6-303 3 days
Illinois 735 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 5/9-210 10 days
Indiana Ind. Code Ann. § 32-31-7-7 Landlord must give the tenant a “reasonable amount of time” to cure.
Iowa Iowa Code § 562A.27(1) 7 days
Kansas Kan. Stat. Ann. § 58-2564(a) 14 days to cure and an additional 16 to vacate.
Kentucky Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 383.660(1) 15 days
Louisiana La. Code Civ. Proc. art. 4701 5 days
Maine Me. Rev. Stat. Ann. tit. 14 § 6002 7 days
Maryland Md. Real Prop. Code Ann. § 8-402.1 30 days unless breach poses clear and imminent danger, then 14 days (no cure).
Massachusetts No statute Landlord can terminate with an Unconditional Quit notice.
Michigan Mich. Comp. Laws § 600.5714(c) 30 days for tenant at will or if lease provides for termination for violations of its provisions.
Minnesota Minn. Stat. Ann. § 504B.285 (Subd.4) Landlord can immediately file for eviction.
Mississippi Miss. Code Ann. § 89-8-13 30 days
Missouri Mo. Rev. Stat. §§ 441.030 and 441.040 10 days
Montana Mont. Code Ann. § 70-24-422 14 days; 3 days if unauthorized pet or person on premises.
Nebraska Neb. Rev. Stat. § 76-1431 14 days to cure, 16 additional days to vacate.
Nevada Nev. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 40.2516 3 days to cure, 2 additional days to vacate.
New Hampshire N.H. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 540:3 30 days
New Jersey N.J. Stat. Ann. §§ 2A:18-53(c),
2A:18-61.1(e)(1)
3 days; lease must specify which violations will result in eviction. (Some courts have ruled that the tenant be given an opportunity to cure the violation or condition any time up to the entry of judgment in favor of the landlord.)
New Mexico N.M. Stat. Ann. § 47-8-33(A) 7 days
New York N.Y. Real Prop. Acts Law
§ 753(4)[NYC]
Regulated units: 10 days or as set by applicable rent regulation.

Nonregulated units: No statute. Lease sets applicable cure and/or termination notice periods.

North Carolina No statute Landlord can terminate with an Unconditional Quit notice if term is material.
North Dakota N.D. Cent. Code § 47-32-02 3 days
Ohio Ohio Revised Code §§ 1923.02(A)(9) and 1923.04 3 days
Oklahoma Okla. Stat. Ann. tit. 41, § 132(A),
(B)
10 days to cure, additional 5 days to vacate.
Oregon Ore. Rev. Stat. §§ 90.392, 90.405 14 days to cure, additional 16 days to vacate; 10 days to remove an illegal pet.
Pennsylvania 68 Penn. Stat. § 250.501 15 days
Rhode Island R.I. Gen. Laws § 34-18-36 20 days for material noncompliance.
South Carolina S.C. Code Ann. § 27-40-710(A) 14 days
South Dakota S.D. Codified Laws Ann. § 21-16-1(7) Landlord can file eviction lawsuit immediately, without giving tenant an opportunity to cure, if tenant violates a lease clause that provides for immediate termination upon violation.
Tennessee Tenn. Code Ann. § 66-28-505(d) 14 days to cure; tenant has an additional 16 to vacate (does not apply if substantially the same act or omission was the subject of a similar notice within the past six months).
Texas Tex. Prop. Code § 24.005 3 days
Utah Utah Code Ann. § 78B-6-802 3 days
Vermont Vt. Stat. Ann. tit.9 § 4467(b)(1) 30 days
Virginia Va. Code Ann. § 55-248.31 21 days to cure, additional 9 to quit.
Washington Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 59.12.030(4) 10 days
West Virginia W.Va. Code § 55-3A-1 Landlord can immediately file for eviction; no notice is required.
Wisconsin Wis. Stat. Ann. § 704.17 5 days
Wyoming Wyo. Stat. §§ 1-21-1002, 1-21-1003 3 days

Comments are closed