Menu Close

Kansas 3 Day Notice to Pay or Quit


Download this KS 3 Day Notice to Pay or Quit to serve on a delinquent tenant who has resided at the property less than 3 months. This is a single page PDF document.

See the Rental Application with Co-Applicant to reduce future payment default.

If the tenancy has been less than 3 months, a landlord may serve a delinquent tenant with a KS 3 Day Notice to Pay or Quit to demand the rent be paid within 3 days or they must vacate because the tenancy will be terminated.

What Does Kansas Law Say?

§ 58-2508 If a tenant for a period of less than three months shall neglect or refuse to pay rent when due, three days’ notice in writing to quit shall determine the same, unless such rent be paid before the expiration of said three days.

How to Fill Out

Step 1 – Enter the name(s) the tenant(s).

Step 2 – Show the period of tenancy for which the rent is late.

Step 3 – Add the total amount past due.

Step 4 – Enter the rental property address.

Step 5 – Set a deadline (at least 3 days) when the rent must be paid in full.

Step 6 – Sign and date.

Step 7 – Serve the tenant with the notice and complete the record of service section stating who, how and when the tenant was served.

Kansas Eviction Laws
Rent Grace Period: Whatever is agreed upon in the lease (if any). § 58-2545
Nonpayment of Rent: 3 days (<3 months tenancy). § 58-2508, 10 days (3 months or longer tenancy) § 58-2507
Noncompliance: 14 days. § 58-2564
Termination (Month-to-Month Lease): 30 days. § 58-2570
Eviction Lawsuit: Eviction lawsuit. Article 38 § 61-3801 – § 61-3808

Please read our Terms of Use. is not a substitute for consulting with a legal professional specializing in landlord-tenant law.